Move to the Big East becomes official

The Big East officially announced UH as one of five schools that will join the conference today.

UH will be joined by SMU and Central Florida as full members from Conference USA, and Boise State and San Diego State will also join from the Mountain West, but as football-only members.

The move takes effect for theĀ 2013 football season.

The move gives the Big East 10 football schools after the defections of Pittsburgh and Syracuse for the ACC and West Virginia to the Big 12.

The plan for the conference is to add two more football schools so that a conference championship game is possible.


Leave a Comment