Governor appoints four regents

Gov. Rick Perry appointed four members to the nine-member UH System Board of Regents on Tuesday. The new members will be sworn in Tuesday at a board meeting.

Nelda Blair, Jacob Monty, Carroll Robertson Ray and Mica Mosbacher are awaiting confirmation by the Texas Senate.

The new appointees will replace regents Michael Cemo, Raul Gonzalez, Leroy Hermes and Morgan Dunn O’Connor.

The Houston Chronicle reported that Ray would serve for three years until 2011, while Blair, Monty and Mosbacher will serve for five years until 2013.

O’Connor’s term expired in August 2005.

Terms for Cemo, Gonzalez and Hermes expired in August 2007.

UH System Board of Regents appointments at a glance

Nelda Blair

President and owner of Blair Law Firm

Board of Directors chairwoman of the Woodlands Township

Jacob Monty

Managing partner at law firm, Monty Partners

Hispanic Alliance for Progress board member

General counsel to the Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans

Carroll Robertson Ray

Andrews and Kurth firm attorney

Secretary for the Cullen Trust for Performing Arts

Houston Ballet, Houston Museum of Natural Science and Neuhaus Center board member

Mica Mosbacher

Houston Ballet trustee

Fundraiser for the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault, Houston Area Women’s Center and M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Leave a Comment