UH continues track dominance

The men’s track team celebrated their second consecutive outdoor C-USA championship May 16 in Orlando. | Courtesy of UH Athletics

The Cougars will be well represented at the 2010 NCAA Outdoor track and field championships with ten athletes slated to make the trip to Eugene, Ore. Wesley Bray will participate in the decathlon and Chris Carter qualified for the triple jump. Both men and women’s 4×100-meter relay teams qualified. For individual events, Grecia Bolton will run the 100-meter dash, while Christie Jones and Kalyn Floyd made the 200-meter finals. Errol Nolan will compete in the 400-meter dash.

The men’s team repeated as Outdoor Conference USA Champions in Orlando, May 16. Head coach Leroy Burrell was named men’s coach of the year, winning the award for the 16th time.

Isaiah Sweeney won the High Point Scorer of the meet, winning gold in the long jump and the 200-meter dash. Errol Nolan was named Co-Freshman of the Year.

The women’s team placed fifth but the 4×100-meter relay team set a meet record with a time of 43.82 seconds. The team consisted of Christie Jones, Whitney Harris, Kalyn Floyd and Grecia Bolton.

Running back Sims suspended for season; team racks up awards

The NCAA has ruled Charles Sims, who was expected to take an increased role in the offense, ineligible for the 2010 season. The reason for suspension was not released.

Several members of the UH football team were included in the Phil Steele Publications Preseason All-America teams. Quarterback Case Keenum and wide receiver Tyron Carrier made the Preseason All-America Second Team. Receiver James Cleveland made Third Team. Keenum and Cleveland were named on the All Conference-USA First Team, along with linebacker Marcus McGraw and kicker Matt Hogan. also ranked Keenum as the No. 2 preseason candidate to win the 2010 Heisman trophy.

Basketball sees roster changes

The UH men’s basketball team has had a flurry of activity the past few weeks with several departures and key additions.

Desmond Wade, Bryce Clark and Kamell Broughton have all left the UH basketball program to look for playing opportunities elsewhere.

The Cougars added Darian Thibodeaux of Navarro Junior College, Mikhail McLean who graduated from Second Baptist and Jonathon Simmons from Midland Junior College and a graduate of Smiley High School. Fabyon Harris from Hyde Park Academy in Chicago signed a national letter of intent to play for the Cougars.

Athletic department hands out awards

Student-athletes were honored by the Athletics Department at the All-Sports Banquet May 3 for their athletic prowess.

Quarterback Case Keenum and national champion diver Anastasia Pozdniakova claimed the male and female Cougar of the year awards. Linebacker Marcus McGraw was awarded defensive MVP of the football team. Tyron Carrier and Tim Mercer were the special teams MVPs.

Aubrey Coleman was recognized as the men’s MVP for basketball, and Courtney Taylor was the women’s MVP. Matt Creel and Blake Kelso were nominated as baseball MVPs. For indoor track and field Errol Nolan and Kalyn Floyd won the male and female MVPs, respectively.

Leave a Comment