Cougars receive recognition

With players reporting in just under three weeks, the Houston Cougars football program spent some time in the spotlight via the announcement of four players making preseason watch lists.

Charles Sims (Maxwell Award), Richie Leone (Ray Guy Award), D.J. Hayden (Jim Thorpe Award) and Jacolby Ashworth (Lombardi Award) were the quartet of Cougars to receive national recognition to the delight of their coaching staff.

“He’s a very talented young man with a great work ethic,” defensive backs coach Zac Spavital said of Hayden. “He’s well-deserved to be on the Thorpe watch list.”

For Leone, it is his second consecutive year appearing on the Ray Guy Award watch list.

Ashworth, a key member of Houston’s offensive line, was named to the Lombardi Award watch list, given out to the nation’s top lineman or linebacker. Last season, Ashworth started in all 14 games at left tackle.

Running back Sims was named to the Maxwell Award watch list, given out to the nation’s most outstanding player.

Cougar Sports Staff

Leave a Comment